MESAK – Hämärä Komero EP – OB.M02 – 12″


Categories: , , Tags: ,
  1. 01_SIEMAUS 1:30
  2. 02_T.U.L.E 1:30
  3. 03_PIILO 1:43
  4. 04_HAUTA COUTURE 1:30
  5. 05_KOMERO 1:30
  6. 06_SOKKO 1:30
  7. 07_OUT' OH! 1:30
  8. 08_SAMMUTUS 1:35

On Board Music comes back with an original EP from Finnish artist Mesak. Articulated over ambient sounds, IDM ballads, futuristic techno textures and unrefined electro beats this new release unrolls a pure masterclass of electronic music. Also know for his 90’s electro classics within duo Mr. Velcro Fastener, the veteran producer teams up here with fellow finnish artists Mono Junk, Claws Costeau and horns specialist Antti Hevosmaa to display his impeccable expertise in crafting rhythm and sound. The release also comes with a splendid full cover artwork from Berlin based painter Natacha Mankowski.

Opening the A side “Siemaus” deeply introduces the record with a gentle sweeping synth joined by a lazy syncopated rhythm and bleeping sequences. Following up, “T.U.L.E. (This Is The World)” is the most playful track of the record. Developing from a simple electronic bass line and distorted synths, its smashing beats will unmistakably burn some dance floors. On A3, “Piilo” would sound like a beatless, filtered and acidish outro of the previous cut. “Hauta Couture” closes the A side adding a fresh bit of Jazz eccentricity to the record with a creative blend of IDM sounds and looping horns sample on an Abstract Hip Hop structure.

The flip opens with “Komero”, built on timeless Electronica sounds that would recall the best hours of Arpanet or Boards Of Canada. Floating on a magnificent ethereal pad, a futuristic sequence moves over a simple binary yet groovy electrifying rhythm. “Sokko” dives in more experimental territories with out-of-nowhere sequences playing one with each other. “Out’oh!” brings electronic Dub investigations to a higher level of excellence, combing stripped down atmosphere, classic chords and bass sounds on a very intuitive organic structure. “Sammutus” closes the EP with melancholic ambience from which LFO squeezed sounds stands out.

All tracks written & produced by Tatu Metsätähti & Luigi Ruissalo. Recorded and mixed at Studio Yollaz, Helsinki.
Mastered by Carsten Daembkes
Design et illustration by Natacha Mankowski

On Board Music © 2018

Mesak: Synthesizers, drum machines, effects & tapes.
Featuring: Mono Junk: Vocals on A2; Antti Hevosmaa: Trumpet, flugelhorn & loopers on A1, A3, A4, B1 & B2; Claws Costeau: Electric bass, electric organ, percussions, ride, sample and loop on A4 & B3.

Weight 300 g

12″ Vinyl


Ambient, IDM


  • No products in the cart.